MSMS is pleased to announce 12 members of the Class of 2017 have been named National Merit Semifinalists (ten-percent of the senior class!). The National Merit Semifinalists are Nayan Chawla, Daniel Cieslinksi, Chris Colley, Raven Ferguson, Braeden Foldenauer, Emily Hook, Haley Hsu, Uriah Jenkins, Sutton Klein, Alex Leise, Lauryn Smith, and Andy Zhao.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. Of those who competed for Semifinalist status, only 16,000 were chosen.

The 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program has named an additional six students Commended Students. These students are Noah Hunt, Achintya Prasad, Wrishija Roy, Emily Shy, Claudia Vial, and Baili Zhong.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, about 34,000 students were named Commended and are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competion for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students are placed among the top five percent of the more than 1.6 million students who entered into the 2017 competition.

MSMS would like to extend congratulations to all of these outstanding young men and women and deep thanks to their home schools for preparing them for true academic excellence!