The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the students who have qualified as National Merit Finalists. Of the 16,000 semifinalists named in early November, eleven students from the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science were among the 15,000 finalists announced: 

Linda Arnoldus

Austin Eubank

Ryley Fallon

Guillermo Hoffmann Meyer

Dennis Lee

Nathan Lee

Aiden Leise

Julian Martin

Vayd Ramkumar

Esmond Tsang

Rachel Zheng

At this stage of the selection process, all Merit Scholarship award winners will be chosen from this group of finalists. Scholarships will be awarded based on student abilities, skills, and accomplishments. There are three types of Merit Scholarship awards: National Merit $2,500 Scholarships, corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards. 

In addition to the honor and recognition that comes along with being named a National Merit Semifinalist or Finalist, the award can often be leveraged to secure additional scholarships to a variety of colleges or universities. 

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation was established in 1955 as an independent, not-for-profit organization and currently oversees both the National Merit Scholarship Program and the National Achievement Scholarship Program. Both of these programs seek to recognize and award extraordinary academic performance. To learn more about the scholarship program, visit www.nationalmerit.org.